2004 WPPA State Shoot Hosted By Eau Claire

by Director Gary Burns, WPPA State Shoot Chairman

The 2004 WPPA State Pistol Shoot was held in Eau Claire and sponsored by the Eau Claire Police Benevolent Association. The event attracted 90 shooters from around the state. While many shooters’ score sheets and spirits were dampened by the rain, other shooters’ expertise continued to prevail as if they were not at all affected by the heavy downpour.

The end result was that Ken Johnson from the West Bend Police Department won the Champion of Champions award with a final score of 847 17x out of a possible 900. The Freshman Champion of Champions award was taken by Dean Pitt from Marathon County Sheriff’s Office with a final score of 743 7x. The retired Champion award went to John Traynor from the Eau Claire Police Department with a final score of 824 17x.

The Champion of Champions Team award went to the Marathon County Sheriff’s Office – Team 1A – consisting of Eric Heggeland, Matt Scheffler, Jerry Reich, and Randy Albert.

The Nick Klaske Memorial Rapid Fire Team award was won by Kenosha Police Department – Team 1B – consisting of Brad Hetlet, Jack Decker, Doug Ball, and Ulrich Thrams. The Most Improved Sophomore Shooter and winner of the Don Streicher Memorial Award was Joe Lindbury from the Appleton Police Department. Individual class awards are printed below.

I want to take this opportunity to thank the members and spouses from the Eau Claire Police Department for hosting this year’s event. This shoot was memorable in many ways. We have not had to deal with such heavy rain since Fond du Lac hosted their last shoot in 1989. And, once again, Norbert Nelson (retired from the Manitowoc Police Department) continued his string of consecutive shoots, making this his fifty-sixth shoot!

Commitment, dedication, competition, and camaraderie are just a few reasons why this event continues to exist. It provides an opportunity to establish new friends and to continue old relationships with fellow officers. So why not plan to attend next year’s shoot in the Wausau area? The Marathon County Deputy Sheriffs’ Association will be your host.

Until next year, strive to keep all your scores in the black.

Champion of Champions Ken Johnson, West Bend 847 17x
Second Grand Aggregate Matt Scheffler, Marathon Co. 834 19x
Third Grand Aggregate Thomas Manning, Waukesha 833 19x
Slow Fire Dave Bebeau, Chippewa Falls 195 9x
Timed Fire Larry Rodencal, Neenah 191 6x
Rapid Fire Joe Kovach, Ashland Co. 190 5x
Champion of Champions Dean Pitt, Marathon Co. 743 7x
Slow Fire Marshall Schjoneman, Marathon Co. 178 1x
Timed Fire Mica Weber, Dane Co. 165 0x
Rapid Fire Dean Pitt, Marathon Co. 165 1x
First Grand Aggregate John Traynor, Eau Claire 824 21x
Second Grand Aggregate Laurence Clark, Chippewa Falls 823 14x
Third Grand Aggregate Bill Brockman, West Bend 806 13x
Slow Fire Laurence Clark, Chippewa Falls 192 6x
Timed Fire Thomas Manning, Waukesha 188 3x
Rapid Fire Ken Johnson, West Bend 185 1x
Aggregate John Birtzer, Eau Claire 826 14x
Slow Fire Jerry Rieck, Marathon Co. 194 9x
Timed Fire Matt Scheffler, Marathon Co. 187 3x
Rapid Fire Matt Scheffler, Marathon Co. 183 5x
Aggregate Jerry Rieck, Marathon Co. 820 22x
Slow Fire Scott Campbell, Superior 185 5x
Timed Fire Scott Campbell, Superior 182 4x
Rapid Fire Mike Madsen, Kenosha 176 2x
Aggregate John Zabel, Sheboygan 781 10x
Slow Fire Jim Toth, Marathon Co. 182 3x
Timed Fire Steve Diedrich, Appleton 172 2x
Rapid Fire Steve Bartell, Appleton 160 0x
Aggregate Jim Toth, Marathon Co. 762 1x
Slow Fire Dean Pitt, Marathon Co. 177 4x
Timed Fire Dean Pitt, Marathon Co. 162 0x
Rapid Fire Nate Gallagher, Neenah 164 1x
Aggregate Marshall Schjoneman, Marathon Co. 728 6x
Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2004 WPPA State Shoot Hosted By Eau Claire

  1. Pingback: Awk Silence