Special Olympics Wisconsin Law Enforcement Torch Run® Volunteer Of The Year Award

Past Inductees

2007 – Deputy Jerry Frank, Vernon County Sheriff’s Department
2006 – Officer Bob Roeske, Rothschild Police Department
2005 – Officer Greg Koentopp, North Fond du Lac Police Department


The Special Olympics Wisconsin Law Enforcement Torch Run® Volunteer of the Year Award was created to recognize outstanding officers who have committed themselves to the mission of Special Olympics Wisconsin as evidenced by the officer’s participation and leadership in the Law Enforcement Torch Run® or Special Olympics events.


Nominations may be submitted by an individual, a law enforcement agency, or a Special Olympics Program. All nominations should include a completed nomination form. There may be more than one inductee per year, to provide for the growing number of quality nominees.


The nominee’s involvement must demonstrate a sustained and significant contribution to the achievement of the mission of Special Olympics and must be a WPPA member. Areas of consideration include outstanding achievement in program development, organization, fund-raising success, and volunteerism.


Nomination forms must be postmarked no later than February 1, 2008, and sent to: Julie Buedding, Law Enforcement Torch Run® Manager, Special Olympics Wisconsin, 5900 Monona Drive, Suite 301, Madison, WI 53716; Phone: (800) 552-1324 Ext. 213; Fax: (608) 222-3578; jbuedding@specialolympicswisconsin.org.

All nominations are sent to the Selections Committee. All nominees will be notified and the inductee(s) will be announced at the WPPA Convention Awards Banquet on Sunday, May 18, 2008, at the Kalahari Resort & Convention Center in Wisconsin Dells.

All nominees will receive a letter of recognition from the chair of the Selections Committee in honor of their nomination, with a copy to the nominee’s agency.

2008 Volunteer of the Year Nomination Form

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.