WPPA Names Legislators of the Year

Sen. Jim Sullivan, Jim Palmer, & Rep. Chris Danou

MADISON – The Wisconsin Professional Police Association (WPPA) today announced that it has named State Senator Jim Sullivan and State Representative Chris Danou as the group’s 2009-2010 “Legislators of the Year.” After thoroughly reviewing their legislative records to protect and promote public safety and the interests of those who provide it, the WPPA’s Legislative Committee voted unanimously to recognize Sullivan and Donou with this honor. The committee consists entirely of active law enforcement officers from across the state.

At a recent annual awards ceremony at the Kalahari Resort in Wisconsin Dells, WPPA Executive Director Jim Palmer presented the two lawmakers with their awards, and praised their support to the more than 400 people in attendance.

“Jim Sullivan and Chris Danou have worked tirelessly to make Wisconsin safer, not only for its citizens, but for its law enforcement officers as well,” said Palmer.

Among the accomplishments extolled at the ceremony, Palmer highlighted how both legislators were authors of bills to penalize suspects for injuring officers while fleeing, and creating disability benefits if officers contract an infectious disease while on duty. State Representative Danou, himself a former Onalaska Police Officer, was inspired to write the first bill after his former co-worker Officer Daniel McCluskey was injured in the line of duty by a fleeing suspect.

With over 11,000 active and retired members from nearly 400 local associations, the WPPA is the state’s largest law enforcement group.

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.